Everycare Logo


Call Us

01962 842548

Follow us :

Losing a loved one is a very difficult time. There is no right or wrong way of grieving and everyone grieves in their own way.

Bereavement has common symptoms:

The feelings you have could come and go in waves and at times hit you hard, and this is ok and normal.

There are 5 stages of grief:

There are some that find it hard to go through the stages of grief and they get stuck and unable to progress through all the stages. This isn’t uncommon, at times like these you need a bit of extra support. You may have family and friends that you could talk to – however If they have worked though their grief, they may find it hard to support you with yours.

For most people grief will become less intense over time. But for some people grief lasts many months or years. This is known as prolonged grief disorder or complicated grief.

Symptoms of prolonged grief disorder include

Someone is more likely to suffer prolonged grief disorder when a death has been traumatic

There are great independent services around for you to contact when things are getting tough and you need to talk to someone

Useful contacts

Winchester Bereavement Support – 07450 649 679

Cruse – 0808 808 1677

Mind – 0300 123 3393

Featured image by stockking on Freepik